A testimony to Arabs

jews-muslims-30-days-net

This is a testimony shared with me.

I was born into a devout but open-minded Muslim family in Algeria.  At the age of four, I suffered from a devastating disease that left both my legs lame.  My sufferings stirred in me a strong desire to draw close to God.  I immersed myself in the rituals of my religion and tried everything to ensure that I was following the right path.  I longed for a sense of peace in my heart.  There are two matters that my former religion emphasizes:  Firstly, that I was born innocent and without sin and secondly, that no one else but I carry the weight of the sins I commit.

As I continued to study the Qur’an, one question burdened me like no other.  How could I be sure that I would go to heaven?  The Qur’an taught me that if I repent and do all the good  I can, when my good works are weighed in the scales on the Day of Judgment, perhaps I may receive God’s favour and enter paradise.  This haunted me and gave me no rest.  At the same time, one person drew my attention more than any other.  I had so much admiration for the one called the prophet Isa.  I read in the Qur’an that he is the light; he is God’s spirit; he is the sinless child; he was raised from the dead.  The more I read of him, the more fascinated I became.  In fact, I concluded that if the character of Isa were taken out of the book, there would be no hope left for mankind.

I would sit in my room alone and listen to the Arabic Christian broadcasts on the radio – hearing and learning more about Jesus.  I decided that I would go and ask these Christian – the people of the book – about Isa.  Why is he so special?  The answer to my initial question was answered in the Bible – because of what Christ had done on the cross, I had a guarantee of eternal life – not a perhaps, but an assurance.  One day, going through my collection of postcards, I noticed a bookmark – there was a picture of a shepherd, standing before a door, knocking.  A few days later I came across a verse in the Bible that startled me – Revelation 3:20 – behold I stand at the door and knock. The time had come to confess my sins and put my trust in the Lord Jesus Christ, who is alive and has come to live in me by His Spirit.

About evanlaar1922

Have you ever noticed how many special ways God refers to us, His dear children? He calls us His beloved sons and daughters, the righteous, children of the kingdom, His anointed, royal priesthood, the faithful in Christ, His temple, His friends, and so many other loving names that speaks to who we are in Him. Also in many cases, the names we are given at birth have both biblical and heavenly identities tied into them. Our Heavenly Father who watches over us daily has created the ideal path for each of us to take to travel the journey of life, just as a father will make plans for his own child by putting things in place at a very early age for education, health, graduation, and marriage. God has predestined and equipped each of us to carry out a specific purpose that will create the design He desires to be in place for His kingdom to be effective in the earth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

